University of Hawaii will honor faculty and staff at annual Convocation awards ceremony on September 9

President David McClain and Board of Regents to recognize faculty and staff for their dedication and service

University of Hawaiʻi
Carolyn Tanaka, (808) 956-8109
External Affairs & University Relations
Posted: Sep 8, 2008

HONOLULU — The University of Hawaiʻi will hold its 2008 Convocation awards ceremony on Tuesday, September 9, where more than 40 faculty and staff from the university‘s 10 campuses across the state will be recognized and presented with various teaching, research and service awards. UH President David McClain, the Board of Regents, campus chancellors and administrators, friends and family of the award recipients will join together in celebrating the accomplishments of these faculty and staff members.

The ceremony begins at 10 a.m. and will be held at Kennedy Theatre on the UH Mānoa campus. The event is free and open to the public. It will also be broadcast live on the UH Mānoa Campus Cable Channel 67 and at the following campus HITS locations:

  • Kapiʻolani CC - Naio Room 110

  • Kauaʻi CC - LRC 122

  • Leeward CC - Library Room 116

  • Maui CC - Ka'aike Room 105A

  • Molokaʻi Education Center - Room 103

Presented annually to recognize faculty and staff from all the campuses throughout the UH system for their excellence in teaching, research and service, the awards include:
  • Regents‘ Medal for Excellence in Teaching

  • Regents‘ Medal for Excellence in Research

  • Willard Wilson Award for Distinguished Service to the University

  • President‘s Award for Excellence in Buildings and Grounds Maintenance

  • Frances Davis Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

  • Hung Wo and Elizabeth Lau Ching Foundation Award for Faculty Service to the Community

  • Masaki and Momoe Kunimoto Memorial Award for Outstanding Contributions to Career and Technical Education

  • Robert W. Clopton Award for Outstanding Service to the Community

  • UH Mānoa Chancellor‘s Citation for Meritorious Teaching

  • UH Mānoa Chancellor‘s Awards for Outstanding Service

  • UH Mānoa Distinguished Graduate Mentoring Award

  • UH Hilo Chancellor‘s Awards

  • UH West Oʻahu Chancellor‘s Award

For more information about the university‘s Convocation awards ceremony and awardees, visit

For more information, visit: