Emeritus & Retired Faculty

George Akita (Emeritus)
PhD Harvard, 1960
Modern Japan

Yong-Ho Choe (Emeritus)
PhD Chicago, 1971
Modern Korea
Email: choeyh@hawaii.edu

Cedric B. Cowing (Emeritus)
PhD Wisconsin, 1956
U.S. Colonial and Religious History
Email: cowing@hawaii.edu

Elton Daniel
PhD Texas-Austin, 1978
Middle East, Islam

William Wayne Farris
PhD Harvard, 1981
Pre-modern Japan
Email: wfarris45@gmail.com

Hugh H. W. Kang (Emeritus)
BA Berea, 1956; MA Chicago, 1958; PhD Washington, 1964
Pre-Modern Korea
Email: hwkang@hawaii.edu

Pauline N. King (Emeritus)
BA Sarah Lawrence, 1949; MA, PhD Hawaiʻi, 1956, 1976
Hawaiʻi; U.S. in the Pacific
Email: paulinek@hawaii.edu

Daniel W. Y. Kwok (Emeritus)
PhD Yale 1959
Chinese Intellectual History
Email: dkwok@hawaii.edu

Doris Ladd
Latin America

Robert Locke (Emeritus)
PhD UCLA, 1965
Modern Europe, Germany, Comparative Business History
Email: blocke@hawaii.edu

Sharon Minichiello
PhD Hawaiʻi, 1975
Modern Japan

Idus Newby
PhD UCLA, 1962
American South

Michael Speidel (Emeritus)
PhD Freiburg, 1962
Greece and Rome; Roman Military History; Epigraphy
Email: speidel@hawaii.edu

John Stephan (Emeritus)
PhD London, 1969
Modern Japan; Russia in Asia
Email: stephan@hawaii.edu

Herbert Ziegler
PhD Emory, 1980
Modern Germany; 20th-Century Europe; World History