Phi Alpha Theta Alpha Beta Epsilon Chapter (University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa)

Call For Papers:

Annual Hawaiʻi Regional Meeting of

Phi Alpha Theta


UH Mānoa will host the THIRTIETH ANNUAL HAWAIʻI REGIONAL MEETING OF PHI ALPHA THETA at the Mānoa Campus Center on Saturday, March 8, 2014. The keynote speaker will be Dr. Thomas W. Devine, Professor of History at California State University, Northridge and author of Henry Wallace's 1948 Presidential Campaign and the Future of Postwar Liberalism (2013). Undergraduate and graduate students at all participating Hawaiʻi campuses are cordially invited to present papers on historical subjects and problems of their choosing at the meeting. 


To do so, a student must submit his or her name, email address or phone number, chapter affiliation, the title of the proposed paper as it should appear in the conference program, and a 500-word abstract of the paper's contents by February 3, 2014 to Completed papers for judging are due February 21, 2014. 


Papers may be as long as thirty pages of text, but the oral presentation of the paper during the Annual Meeting is limited to twenty minutes. (If a student wishes to read his or her whole paper, ten to twelve pages of twelve-point font type, double spaced, is a proper length.) Cash and book prizes will be announced at the end of the meeting (at 4:30). Best paper awards include the Robert E. McGlone Biography established in 2013 and the new Jerry H. Bentley World History prize. Students presenting papers and their student guests will receive lunch free.


Please join us on March 8 to make new friends and celebrate HISTORY with fellow historians.


Currently, the prizes awarded at the conference include:

  • Best Undergraduate Paper
  • Best Graduate Paper
  • Walter Vella Prize in Research
  • Sarah Sohmer Prize in Hawaiian/Pacific History
  • Idus A. Newby Prize in Historiography
  • Herbert F. Margulies Prize in US History
  • Fritz Rehbock Prize in Science and Discovery
  • Robert E. McGlone Biography Prize
  • Jerry H. Bentley World History Prize