Undergraduate Awards

Craig Lyons and Kananileialoha Kawika were co-winners of the Phi Alpha Theta 2011-2012 Sara Sohmer Prize in Hawaiian or Pacific History.

Lena Moore received the Phi Alpha Theta 2011-2012 Fritz Rehbock Prize in the History of Science and Discovery.

Graduate Awards

Shirley Buchanan received the Phi Alpha Theta 2011-2012 Best Graduate Paper Prize.

Adam Witten received the 2011-2012 Graduate Division Award for Excellence in Teaching as a Teaching Assistant.

Monica LaBriola was presented with the 2011-2012 College of Arts and Humanities Dissertation Research Award.

Faculty Awards and Achievements

Dr. Ned Bertz has been awarded the Board of Regents' Excellence in Teaching Award from UHM (May 7, 2010), in addition to the College of Arts and Humanities Excellence in Teaching Award (February 17, 2010).

Dr. Noelani Arista has been awarded the prestigious Allan Nevins Prize by the Society of American Historians for her for the best-written doctoral dissertation on an American subject (April 14, 2010)

Staff Awards and Achievements

Sue Carlson, our Graduate Secretary, has been awarded the 2011 University of Hawaii at Manoa Chancellor's Award for Outstanding Service by a Civil Service employee. Sue will be recognized at the Manoa Executive Team meeting and the UH Convocation ceremony in September. Sue will also be a nominee for the 2011 Governor Award for Distinguished State Service. Congratulations Sue!