About the Hawaii Energy Policy Forum

about picture

The Hawaii Energy Policy Forum was established in 2002 as a collaborative energy planning and policy group. The organization consists of roughly 40 representatives from business, academia, government, and non-profit organizations. 

Members of the Hawaii Energy Policy Forum commit to:

Foster openness, trust, and respect when we:

  • Encourage frank discussions from all perspectives;
  • Participate actively with integrity and empathy;
  • Identify areas of agreement and seek understanding when addressing competing interests;
  • Report differing viewpoints accurately;
  • Maintain transparency in Forum processes, information and work products;
  • Acknowledge contributions and successes.

Enable collaboration when we:

  • Create opportunities to connect and share information and data;
  • Create a framework for dialogue to understand competing positions on issues;
  • Promote partnerships on projects.

Create value through action when we:

  • Leverage existing resources and relationships to achieve greater impacts;
  • Set milestones and deliverables and hold ourselves accountable by achieving and sharing results;
  • Evaluate our performance on an ongoing basis;
  • Adapt to changing needs.

Support factual information sharing and education when we:

  • Ask the right questions to identify and prioritize stakeholder needs;
  • Establish clear, consistent, and realistic expectations and objectives;
  • Gather reliable quality data and information of best practices;
  • Conduct analysis and research and support;
  • Vet statements, positions and qualify facts and information;
  • Present all sides, identify trade-offs and choices, and clarify complexities;
  • Share information tailored to diverse audiences in a timely manner;
  • Diversify the mechanisms by which we deliver information to the public.

Serve the greater good when we:

  • Place higher-level societal goals over personal and organizational agendas;
  • Take a holistic view of energy policy in harmony with other state policy objectives;
  • Weigh carefully economic, environmental and equity impacts;
  • Increase participation of underserved communities.

The Hawaii Energy Policy Forum had its beginnings in May 2002, when the University of Hawaii at Manoa was funded by the Hawaiian Electric Company to bring together energy stakeholders to chart a new future for energy in Hawaii. For decades Hawaii’s dependence on imported fossils fuels increased despite numerous planning efforts and advances in renewable energy and energy efficiency technologies. 

The University of Hawaii team took a new approach to collaborative energy planning by convening relevant energy stakeholder and other community leaders to develop an energy vision for the year 2030 and a strategy to ensure its implementation.  The University with its 30-member advisory group (later to become the Hawaii Energy Policy Forum,) commissioned studies of renewable energy options, energy efficiency and conservation, hydron futures, and future greenhouse gas emissions regulations.  The goal was to incorporate as many different perspectives and the broadest possible experience into the design of a flexible, forward-looking energy strategy that would be environmentally friendly, renewable, safe, reliable, and affordable.

In December of 2003, to get broader community input fora strategy for Hawaiiʻs energy future, the Hawaii Energy Policy Summit was convened. From the Summit, a long-term, strategic, comprehensive, and action-oriented plan was developed, which was documented in Hawaii at the Crossroads: A Long Term Energy Strategy (PDF)  that included guiding principles and policy options to meet Hawaii’s long-term energy needs. Additional funding from the State Department of Business, Economic Development, and Tourism, the Hawaii Community Foundation, and the Department of Health and University of Hawaii, provided further support for Forum projects, governance and administration.

In its early years, the Forum was instrumental in several significant areas—including focusing priority and getting energy issues “on the decision-making table,” promoting funding and needed reform for the State’s utility regulatory agencies  (i.e., the Public Utilities Commission and the Division of Consumer Advocacy), and commissioning studies, reports and briefings to raise the level of dialog concerning energy issues for legislators and the general public.  The Forum sponsors and organizes several well attended annual events, including Hawaii Clean Energy Day, and a Legislative Briefing at the Capitol at the opening of each legislative session, and sponsors programs to develop reliable information and educate and raise awareness in the community, including The Clean Energy Metrics Project, ongoing participation in initiatives promoting sustainability and transportation reforms, and weekly energy shows on ThinkTech Hawaii.

DavidBissellCEOKauai Island Utility Cooperative
MeganBlazakRural Economic Development SupervisorThe Kohala Center
PeterBoylanGovernment & Public Affairs ManagerPar Hawaii
JadeButayDirectorHawaii Department of Transportation
CarlCampagnaExectutive DirectorHawaii Bioeconomy Trade Organization
CarolineCarlDeputy DirectorHawaii Energy
PamChasuta AnukoolthamchoteSenior Manager, Partnerships & PolicyElemental Excelerator
AlbertCheePublic Affairs ManagerIsland Energy Services
JacquelineConcat District DirectorOffice of Congressman Ed Case
MurrayClayManaging PartnerUlupono Initiative
Alexanderde RoodeEnergy CommissionerCounty of Maui
MitchEwanHydrogen Systems Program ManagerHawaii Natural Energy Institute
CarlFreedmanPresidentHaiku Design & Analysis
MatthiasFrippAssistant ProfessorRenewable Energy & Island Sustainability
BrandonGarayMilitary LiasonOffice of US Congresswoman Tulsi Gabbard
WillGieseExecutive DirectorHawaii Solar Energy Association
ScottGlennCEOHawaii State Energy Office
DaleHahnSenior Policy AdvisorOffice of US Senator Brian Schatz
MikeHammettPrincipal InvestigatorUH Social Sciences Research Institute
SherilynHayashidaAssistant SpecialistUH Manoa Public Policy Center
AnukritiHittleHawaii Climate Change Mitigation & Adaptation CoordinatorHawaii Department of Land and Natural Resources
LorraineInouyeTransportation ChairSenate Transportation Committee
RussellKoehlerSenior Energy EngineerMarine Corps Base Hawaii
NicoleLowenEnergy & Environmental Protection ChairHouse Energy & Environmental Protection Committee
MelissaMiyashiroManaging Director, Strategy & PolicyBlue Planet Foundation
DavidMolinaroDirectorHawaii Center for Advanced Transportation
RockyMouldEnergy Program ManagerCity & County of Honolulu Office of Climate Change, Sustainability & Resiliency
DeanNishinaExecutive DirectorDivision of Consumer Advocacy
MelissaPavlicekPresidentHawaii Public Policy Advocates
JenniferPotterComissionerPublic Utilities Commission
RickRocheleauDirectorHawaii Natural Energy Institute
RossRoleyEnergy Innovation LeadU.S Pacific Command (PACOM)
DavidRolfExecutive DirectorHawaii Automobile Dealers Association
PeterRoseggCorporate RelationsHawaiian Electric Company
RileySaitoEnergy SpecialistCounty of Hawaii
DeniseSalmeronEnergy CoordinatorUS Department of Agriculture, Rural Development
ScottSeuSenior Vice President, Public AffairsHawaiian Electric Company
CarilynShonEnergy AdministratorHawaii State Energy Office, DBEDT
JoelleSimonpietriPresidentSimonpietri Enterprises LLC
BenSullivanEnergy CoordinatorOffice of Economic Development, County of Kauai
MariaTomeRenewable Energy Program ManagerHawaii State Energy Office
GlennWakaiEnergy, Economic Development, & Tourism Judiciary ChairSenate Energy, Economic Development, and Tourism Committee 
RichardWallsgroveAssistant ProfessorWilliam S. Richardson School of Law
AlanYamamotoState DirectorOffice of US Senator Mazie Hirono
JulieYunkerSenior Project DeveloperHawaii Gas

Last Updated: 6/27/2020