Student Research Award

Awards at different degree levels are available. Candidates must be nominated by their faculty adviser. Any full-time student working towards a bachelor’s, master’s or doctoral degree may be nominated. Nominations are screened by a review committee composed of three or more members of the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research. Complete nomination guidelines are available in the URC Website. Below is a list of past award recipients:

Doctoral Level

 2013 Brendan Bowler, Astronomy

 2013 Andrew Mann, Astronomy

 2012 Christopher Beaumont, Astronomy

 2011 Michelle Gaither, Zoology

 2010 Heather Marlow, Zoology

 2009 Bernadette Cheryl Beredo, American Studies

 2009 Benjam Granett, Astronomy

 2008 Hai Fu, Astronomy

 2007 David Harrington, Astronomy

 2006 Yuko Kakazu, Astronomy

 2005 Midori Ishida, Second Language Studies

 2005 Nicole Lautze, Geology & Geophysics

 2004 Zhaohui Wang, Chemistry

 2003 Brian Bruya, Philosophy

 2002 Kelly Benoit Bird, Zoology

 2001 Spencer Nyholm, Zoology

Master’s Level

 2012 Margaret Hanna, Theatre

 2011 Alice Colman, Geology and Geophysics

 2011 Cynthia Lai, Natural Resources & Environmental Management

 2011 Ningjian Liang, Human Nutrition, Food and Animal Sciences

 2010 H. JabranZahid, Astronomy

 2009 In Cheh Chen, Ocean and resources Engineering

 2008 Emily Levesque, Astronomy

 2007 Trent Dupuy, Astronomy

 2006 Steven Lim, Molecular Biosciences & Bioengineering

 2004 Patrick Shamberger, Geology & Geophysics

 2003 Lise Martel, Psychology

 2002 George Theodore Garneau, French

 2001 Liane Carlos, French

Bachelor’s Level

 2012 Youngsu Kwon, Biology

 2011 Johnelle Chock, Nursing

 2010 Neal Akatsuka, Anthropology  2010 Megan Chock, Biology and Economics

 2009 Alan Herbert, Philosophy

 2008 Leighton Kenji Vila, Psychology

 2007 Dan Sulak, Global Environmental Science

 2006 Larry Ruckman, Physics & Astronomy

 2005 Michelle Sosa, Microbiology

 2004 Nel Venzon, Jr., Biology

 2003 Cory Soon, Mechanical Engineering

 2002 Grace Liu, Zoology

 2001 Steve Eckert, Zoology