Peter V. Garrod Distinguished Graduate Mentoring Award

The Peter V. Garrod Distinguished Graduate Mentoring Award recognizes mentoring excellence by graduate faculty at the University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa (UHM). Each year, the Graduate Council invites nominations and presents one award to an outstanding graduate faculty who demonstrates foremost excellence in mentoring.

Nomination Guidelines

Nominees must demonstrate an outstanding career record of mentoring graduate students at UHM.  A complete nomination requires both a nomination from one faculty colleague and at least one student. Faculty nominators should be someone from the nominee's department or program who is familiar with their mentoring work. Student nominators must be either current or former students who have been mentored by the nominee and who can relate their experiences first-hand. To the extent that the mentoring of undergraduate students contributes to the development of prospective graduate students, undergraduate students may serve as nominators.

Amount of Award

The award consists of $1,000.


Any UHM graduate faculty may be nominated, with the exception of past recipients of the award.


Please Note:  The Office of Graduate Education will accept nominations from October 1 through December 1.

Nomination form for Students or Alumnus/Alumna

Peter V. Garrod Distinguished Graduate Mentoring Award Nomination Form - Student

Nomination form for Faculty

Peter V. Garrod Distinguished Graduate Mentoring Award Nomination Form - Faculty


Upon request by the Graduate Council, the nominators should compile documentary evidence to support the nomination. The council selects finalists based on information provided in the two letters described above. Therefore, it is important that the letters make the best case possible within the space limitation. In addition to providing a fairly comprehensive account of the unique qualities and accomplishments of the nominee that warrant the nomination, the letters should draw upon a wide range of comments from both graduate and undergraduate students who have been mentored by the nominee. The Graduate Council looks for evidence that not only documents the present effectiveness of the nominee as a mentor, but also substantiates continued excellence throughout the nominee’s career.

Selection Criteria

While it is impossible to develop a single set of criteria to measure excellence in mentoring, the Graduate Council in general looks for the following qualities in a nominee:

  • Maintains the highest standards of professional conduct and personal ethics and guides students to emulate such standards.
  • Teaches by example: setting and consistently attaining high standards of professional scholarship, creating quality publications and willingly engaging in outreach activities.
  • Fosters the development of graduate students’ communication skills, both written and oral, as appropriate for the students’ disciplines by critiquing written work and oral presentations; is available for editorial assistance in the preparation of the thesis or dissertation and evaluates its progress in a timely manner.
  • Is accessible to students, communicates effectively and respectfully and promotes such interactions.
  • Educates students in the culture and procedures appropriate to their discipline; helps students network with other scholars in their field.
  • Promotes intellectual growth and critical thinking.
  • Provides career guidance, actively helping students to find professionally-relevant employment.
  • Actively assists students’ progress through the degree in a timely manner and helps students develop in those areas particularly critical to their professional success.

Nomination Procedure and Deadline

Nominations must be submitted electronically between October 1 and December 1. Awards will be conferred the following Spring semester.

Past Award Recipients

  • 2014 William C. Howes, English
  • 2013 Krisna Suryanata, Geography
  • 2012 Robert Toonen, HIMB
  • 2011 Joanne Cooper, Educational Administration
  • 2010 Richard Chadwick, Political Science
  • 2009 Ricardo Trimillos, Music
  • 2008 Alan Katz, Public Health
  • 2007 Mari Yoshihara, American Studies
  • 2006 Ian MacMillan, English
  • 2005 Bion Griffin, Anthropology