Frances Davis Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

Graduate teaching assistants play a significant role in facilitating the learning of undergraduate students at the University of Hawai’i at Mānoa (UHM). Established in memory of the late Ms. Frances Davis, who taught mathematics at both UHM and at the Leeward Community College for 19 years, the Frances Davis Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching for a Graduate Teaching Assistant recognizes excellence in undergraduate teaching. Each year, an award is presented to an outstanding UHM graduate teaching assistant who demonstrates excellence in instructional activities.

Please Note:  There are TWO Frances Davis excellence in undergraduate teaching awards: one for faculty and one for graduate teaching assistants.  This nomination process applies only to the nomination of Graduate Teaching Assistants.  Please do not nominate faculty using this process.  Visit the web site for the Center for Teaching Excellence for instructions on how to nominate faculty.

Nomination Guidelines

Nominations may be made by any current or former student, faculty member, or administrator.

Amount of Award

The award consists of $1,000.


Any current graduate teaching assistant at UHM may be nominated, with the exception of past recipients of this award.


From the nominator:

  • Frances Davis Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching Nomination Form

Please Note:  The Office of Graduate Education will accept nominations from October 1 through December 1.

From the nominee (Instructions will be sent on how to electronically submit the following documents):

  1. A statement of no more than two pages discussing your philosophy of teaching and your achievements as a teacher.
  2. Arrange letter(s) of evaluation from your supervising professor(s).
  3. Arrange for letters of support (no more than 3) from students, colleagues, or others who are familiar with your teaching.
  4. A brief description or a syllabus of all the courses you taught and labs or discussion groups you led, and a list of the names of the supervising instructor(s) while at UH.
  5. Narrative statements from any student evaluations for all courses, labs, or discussion groups for which you were a TA (do not send more than those for the previous three years).  Do not include statistical summaries, raw scores or computer reports.  Results of mid-term evaluations from the Center for Teaching Excellence are preferred if you have them.
  6. A current curriculum vitae.

Nomination Procedure and Deadline

Nominations must be submitted electronically between October 1 and December 1 for awards to be determined the following spring. The Graduate Division will notify the nominees and provide further instructions for the submission of dossiers. The Graduate Council will select a finalist and forward its recommendation to the UHM Chancellor.

Past Award Recipients

2014 Jacob Terrell, Linguistics
2014 Angela Haeusler, Second Language Studies
2013 Joshua Irvine, Civil and Environmental Engineering
2012 Sean Trundle, American Studies
2011 Erin Cozens, History
2010 Karyn Mo Wells, American Studies
2009 Joanne Birch, Botany
2008 Matthew Savage, Speech
2007 Susan Dixon, Geography
2006 Amy Donahue, Philosophy
2005 Tasha R. Wyatt, Educational Psychology
2004 Mie Hiramoto Sanders, Linguistics
2003 Brandon Ledward, Anthropology
2002 Mark Panek, English
2001 Carolyn Neel, History
2000 Anne Megan Evans, Theatre