About Us

The Language Flagship

The Language Flagship is a national effort to change the way students in the United States learn languages through a groundbreaking approach to foreign language education. The Flagship community is made up of 27 domestic Flagship centers and programs at 23 institutions of higher education, 10 Overseas Flagship Centers, and three K–12 initiatives. The program leads the nation in designing, supporting, and implementing a new paradigm for advanced language education.

As an innovative partnership between the federal government and the education community, the Language Flagship graduates students with a superior level of proficiency in languages critical to U.S. national security and competitiveness, who will take their place among the next generation of global professionals.

The Chinese Language Flagship Program

The UHM Chinese Language Flagship Program offers a unique opportunity for undergraduate students to learn Chinese to the professional level while pursuing the major of their choice. The UH Manoa team is dedicated to working individually with students from all backgrounds to ensure that they are able to maximize the opportunities college has to offer and enter the workforce well-prepared for the challenges of the 21st century. The program is a comprehensive path to fluency in Mandarin language and culture and makes the learning process as streamlined and efficient as possible.

Faculty And Staff

Dr. Madeline K. Spring

Dr. Madeline K. Spring


John Kawahara

John Kawahara

Administrative Officer

Yunhe Sun

Yunhe Sun

Graduate Assistant

Susanne DeVore

Susanne DeVore

Program Coordinator

Shan Su

Shan Su

Center Support Manager

Shannon Oshiro

Shannon Oshiro

Chief Administrative Officer

Kai Liu

Kai Liu


Flagship Active Students

Brittany Lieu

Dominic Pugliaresi

Edwin Wong

Eileen Roco

Karimah Bunn

Keahonui Kam

Leon Qu

Lindney Acosta

Matthew Dufale

Mia Porter

Myah Mooney

Oliver Sou

Olivia Sou

Ryan Kirk

Stella Jones

Talima Gutulala

Vick Street

Xiaoqing Yu

Xiao Yi Zhao

Ye Jin Hong

Flagship Alumni

Christopher Miller

Danicia Honda

Vivian Li

Michael Olvenik