AH/LLL Advising Directory 2018-08-28T13:38:17+00:00

AH/LLL Advising Directory

The Colleges of Arts & Humanities and Languages, Linguistics & Literature are at the heart of UH Manoa’s mission to provide an excellent education, offering vibrant learning experiences in a rich academic environment.  The Colleges offer liberal arts curricula integrating the acquisition of knowledge, skills and values that enhance our students’ understanding of life and the world in which we live.

ARTS AND HUMANITIES DEPARTMENT ADMINISTRATORS AND ADVISORS

Select from the Department tabs below for department for contact information, location, website, and chairpersons.

Location: Crawford 210

808-956-7736

Fax: 808-956-6662

Website: www.hawaii.edu/acm

Department Chair/Major Advisor: Markus Wessendorf (Crawford 202, wessendo@hawaii.edu )

Location: Moore 324

Phone Number: 808-956-8570

Fax Number: 808-956-4733

Website: http://manoa.hawaii.edu/amst

Interim Department Chair: Mari Yoshihara (myoshiha@hawaii.edu, Moore 324, 808-956-8542)

Undergraduate Chair/Major Advisor: Jeffrey Tripp (acm@hawaii.edu, jtripp@hawaii.edu, Moore 331, 808-956-8247 or 808-956-8570)

Location: Art 142

808-956-8251

Fax: 808-956-9043

Website: www.hawaii.edu/art

Department Chair: Gaye Chan (gchan@hawaii.edu, 808-956-8251 or 808-956-5266)

Associate Chair/Major Advisor: Kate Lingley (lingley@hawaii.edu, 808-956-8251)

Location: George 326

808-956-8202

Fax: 808-956-3947

Website: manoa.hawaii.edu/communicology

Department Chair/Major Advisor: Amy Hubbard (aebesu@hawaii.edu, 808-956-3321)

Location: Sakamaki A203

808-956-8486

Fax: 808-956-9600

Website: manoa.hawaii.edu/history

Department Chair: Shana Brown (shanab@hawaii.edu, 808-956-7151 or 808-956-4222)

Associate Chair: Matthew Lauzon (mlauzon@hawaii.edu, 808-956-4221 or 808-956-8541)

        Undergraduate Coordinator/Major Advisor: Kieko Matteson (kieko.matteson@hawaii.edu, Sakamaki A409, 808-956-6757)

Location: Music Building 3

808-956-7756

Fax: 808-956-9657

Website: manoa.hawaii.edu/music

Department Chair: Laurence Paxton (paxtonla@hawaii.edu, 808-956-2175 or 808-956-2167)

Associate Chair: Tommy Yee (tyee@hawaii.edu, 808-956-6382)

        Major Advisor/Undergraduate Chair: Jane Moulin (moulin@hawaii.edu, 808-956-7707)

  • Currently teaching abroad and will be on sabbatical in Spring 2019.

Location: Sakamaki D301

808-956-8649

Fax: 808-956-9228

Website: hawaii.edu/phil

Department Chair (Acting Chair): Joseph Tanke (tanke@hawaii.edu, Sakamaki D305, 808-956-7001)

Undergraduate Chair/Major Advisor: Vrinda Dalmiya (vrinda@hawaii.edu, Sakamaki B303, 808-956-5981)

Location: Sakamaki A309

808-956-8299

Fax: 808-956-9894

Website: www.hawaii.edu/religion

Department Chair (Acting Chair): Michel Mohr (mmohr@hawaii.edu)
Undergraduate Chair/Major Advisor: Marie Alohalani Brown (mariebro@hawaii.edu)

Location: Kennedy Theater 115

808-956-7677 or 808-956-7622

Fax: 808-956-4234

Website: manoa.hawaii.edu/liveonstage

Department Chair: Elizabeth Fisher (efisher@hawaii.edu, 808-956-9626)

DNCE Major Advisor: Amy Schiffner (amyls@hawaii.edu, 808-956-2359)

THEA Major Advisor: Julie Iezzi (iezzi@hawaii.edu, 808-956-4377)

LLL DEPARTMENT ADMINISTRATORS AND ADVISORS
Select from the Department tabs below

Languages taught in EALL: Japanese, Korean, and Chinese

Location: Moore 382

808-956-8940

Website: www.hawaii.edu/eall

Department Chair: Mee-Jeong Park (meejeong@hawaii.edu)

Major Advisor/Undergraduate Advisor: Todd Ashida (tashida@hawaii.edu, 808-956-2066)

Chinese section

Section Head: Hsin-I Hsieh (hhsieh@hawaii.edu)

Chinese Flagship Program Director: Madeline Spring (madeline.spring@hawaii.edu, 808-956-8780)

Japanese section

Section Head: Ken Ito (kenkito@hawaii.edu)

Korean section

Section Head: Mary Kim (maryskim@hawaii.edu, 808-956-2074)

Korean Flagship Center Director: Sang Yee Cheon (scheon@hawaii.edu, 808-956-2054)

Location: Kuykendall 402

808-956-7619

Fax: 808-956-3083

Website: www.english.hawaii.edu

Department Chair: Subramanian Shankar (subraman@hawaii.edu, engchair@hawaii.edu)

Associate Chair: Darin Payne (darinp@hawaii.edu, 808-956-3087)

Major Advisor/Undergraduate Director: Jim Caron (caron@hawaii.edu, 808-956-3048 or 808-956-3066)

Honors Director: Jim Caron (caron@hawaii.edu, 808-956-3048 or 808-956-3066)

Academic Support Specialist: Valerie Jun (valoiau@hawaii.edu, 808-956-9137)

Languages taught in IPLL: Arabic, Cambodian-Khmer, Chamorro, Filipino, Hindi, Ilokano,
Indonesian, Maori, Persian, Samoan, Sanskrit, Tahitian, Thai, Tongan, Urdu, and Vietnamese

Location: Spalding 255

808-956-8672

Main Email: hip@hawaii.edu

Website: manoa.hawaii.edu/ipll

Department Chair: Stephen O’Harrow (soh@hawaii.edu, 808-956-7371)

Language program coordinators

Arabic: Adly Mirza (adly@hawaii.edu, 808-956-5215)

Cambodian: Chhany Sak-Humphry (sak@hawaii.edu, 808-956-8070)

Chamorro: Brant Songsong (brants@hawaii.edu, 808-956-8672)

Filipino: Pia Arboleda (pca62@hawaii.edu, 808-956-5901)

Hindi/Urdu: Sai Bhatawadekar (saib@hawaii.edu, 808-956-7409)

Ilokano: Dean Domingo (deand@hawaii.edu, 808-956-2226)

Indonesian: Ulrich Kozok (kozok@hawaii.edu, 808-956-7574)

Maori: Te Raukura Roa (raukuraroa@live.com, 808-956-4549)

Samoan: John Mayer (jmayer@hawaii.edu, 808-956-3558)

Sanskrit: Jesse Knutson (jknutson@hawaii.edu, 808-956-3559)

Tahitian: Richard Keao NeSmith (rnesmith@hawaii.edu, 808-956-4572)

Thai: Yuphaphann Hoonchamlong (yuphapha@hawaii.edu, 808-956-8948)

Tongan: Amelia Pasi (pasi@hawaii.edu, 808-956-2651)

Vietnamese: Stephen O’Harrow (soh@hawaii.edu, 808-956-7371)

Languages taught in LLEA: Ancient Greek, French, German, Italian, Latin, Portuguese, Russian, and Spanish

Location: Moore 483

808-956-8520

Main Email: llea464@hawaii.edu

Website: www.hawaii.edu/llea

Department Chair: Paul Chandler (cpaul@hawaii.edu, 808-956-8828)

Academic Support Specialist: Merle Kawabata (fadil@hawaii.edu, 808-956-4187)

Classics

Division Chair & Major/Undergraduate Advisor: Daniel Harris-McCoy (harrismc@hawaii.edu, 808-956-4183)

French/Italian

Division/Graduate Chair: Louis Bousquet (lb2010@hawaii.edu, 808-956-4185)

Major/Undergraduate Advisor: Jacob Huss (jacob@hawaii.edu, 808-956-4175)

German

Division Chair & Major/Undergraduate Advisor: Maryann Overstreet (overst@hawaii.edu, 808-956-4172)

Russian

Division Chair & Major/Undergraduate Advisor:  Anastasia Kostetskaya (kostetsk@hawaii.edu, 808-956-4181)

Spanish/Portuguese/LAIS

Division Chair: Benito Quintana (benitoq@hawaii.edu, 808-956-8796)

Major/Undergraduate Advisor: Eric Thau (thau@hawaii.edu, 808-956-4440)

Latin American and Iberian Studies Advisor: Joy Logan (logan@hawaii.edu, 808-956-4163)

Linguistics BA is under Interdisciplinary Studies

Location: Moore 569

Phone: 808-956-7297

Website: www.hawaii.edu/is

Linguistics Department:

Department Chair: Kamil Deen (kamil@hawaii.edu, 808-956-3223)

Graduate Chair: Andrea Berez-Kroeker (aberez@hawaii.edu, 808-956-3240)

Location: Moore 570

808-956-8610

General Inquires for SLS Dept: Karen Matsumoto (karenmat@hawaii.edu)

Website: hawaii.edu/sls

Department Chair: Graham Crookes (crookes@hawaii.edu, 808-956-6046)

Undergraduate Coordinator/Major Advisor: Kenton Harsch (kenton@hawaii.edu, 808-956-6946)

Major/Undergraduate Advisor: Priscilla Faucette (faucette@hawaii.edu, 808-956-2801)

Program Specialist: Emily Lee (emilylee@hawaii.edu, 808-956-6131)

English Language Institute Director: Kenton Harsch (kenton@hawaii.edu, 808-956-6946)

HELP Director: Joel Weaver (joel2@hawaii.edu, 808-956-2485)